Known…


O LORD, you have searched me [thoroughly] and have known me. You know my downsitting and my uprising; You understand my thought afar off. You sift and search out my path and my lying down, and You are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue [still unuttered], but, behold, O Lord, You know it altogether. You have beset me and shut me in–behind and before, and You have laid Your hand upon me. Your [infinite] knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high above me, I cannot reach it.
~Psalm 139:1-6~

Known…

Oh I am so relieved that there is one who KNOWS me! One thing that I always long for is to be understood and for people to know me. When they don’t in the past it has troubled me but now I understand that this is not always to be and I should not be drawing my security from this.

On the other hand being ‘known’ maybe a thing that a lot of people will run from as they do not KNOW the love of God for us and the freedom and release that this can bring into our lives. It’s a release from the captivity and prison of hiding and covering up things in their lives.

I think it’s almost like a learned behavior if you know what I mean. I straight away got a picture of two little girls playing, best friends. They are talking as they dress their dolls and then one little girl tells the other something really important, something close to her heart, something sad or difficult. The reaction she gets from the other little girl is quite unexpected… She laughs at her or perhaps makes fun of her. Possibly her reaction is one of shock, distaste, or rejection.

As a young and innocent child things will be shared and spoken of but children soon learn to cover things up, hide things and be careful what they say as they experience different responses from people they encounter in their lives. Don’t they say once bitten twice shy.

When we find God, (he already found us and he is waiting) it is again a process of learned behavior to learn to trust, to learn that it is safe to be known, truly safe and truly known.

We learn one experience at a time that when we let him ‘know’ us, he still loves us. After all actually he already knows us completely, more than we know ourselves but it as we open different areas to Him that we experience being known and loved in a safe way.

I’d say that sometimes there are things we don’t even really know about ourself but as we learn and grow forward God allows us to come to know these things about ourself so that then we can allow him to transform these things from glory to glory into his image.

God loves us completely even when we are not completely changed into his likeness, and then gradually he transforms the things He knows hinder us.

So He knows us in that deep way and he also knows practically what we are going to do and what roads our paths will take and it says he knows our thoughts as well. He knows how we think and what makes us tick. He saw what formed our thought processes and our behaviours. And yet with all this knowledge he doesn’t turn away from us or turn us away from him.

These verses make it completely clear that he is protective of us, he lays his hands on us. This is said in a very calm gentle way. All of this is just too much for us to completely understand. I think that in part we just have to accept it and try to allow our minds to grasp the tail of it I out understanding.

The longing of people’s hearts is to be known, and this is the one person and place where it is possible on more levels than we could imagine.

We are known and loved!

Follow me on Facebook via Light for Life and The Answer I’ve Found.

~Cam~

What are your thoughts?

