My Most Authentic Self…


When we align our thoughts, emotions, and actions with the highest part of ourselves, we are filled with enthusiasm, purpose, and meaning. . .
We are joyously and intimately engaged with our world. This is the experience of authentic power.
~Gary Zukav~

What have I put on this planet to do? Each of us have some purpose. Purposes of varying sizes and degrees. No matter what each person’s purpose is, each of us are people of influence in some way or another. Arguably the percentages of people that are good and bad influences is probably even, I don’t know how you would measure that but I would hope that more and more people are empowered in their lives and are becoming a better influence in their worlds.

Influence is something we all have whether we know it or not. It can be a gift, a blessing to so many people, it can enable us to make a huge difference and enlighten people around us for the greater good or it can make us the bane of somebody else’s existence and their lives could be a misery just for knowing us.

I think that you may find that when you are the most influential is when you are being your most authentic self. Staying true to your authentic self is something that will be challenged and tested in different parts of our life, as we may look at ourselves and say we are not good enough, and there is usually much desire whether realised to fit in.

I have found myself tempted of late to look at other people whom I count as successful and start asking myself what do I need to do to change to be more like them so that I can reach my goals, target and mission. I say it’s a temptation because although we can always learn so much from other people and it’s a very valid thing to do, each of us is created different for a different purpose, to be our own self, influential in our own way, and we can’t try to be anyone else and still be authentic Cam or authentic Stephen, Tracy or Bev 🙂

Since the start of this year when my page took off, I was so excited and blessed to find so many people like me out there. I don’t know why I hadn’t discovered it before but all of a sudden a whole new world opened up to me and the most exciting thing to find out was that I am not alone in my ‘little ole mission’ in life, to encourage and inspire and give people hope and to find true life and peace. I discovered so many pages out there with so many other people who all had similar vision and purpose.

But, not too long after that the temptation began ever so slightly to rise in me to think maybe I should be more like so and so, what am I doing wrong, do I need to change, I realised that the most important thing was to be my most authentic self, and the best most authentic self I could be. It’s a trap to fall into that frame of mind and it’s also wrong, it’s not what we need to be doing, expending time and brain power on trying to be more like someone else to feel like we’ve made it.

I guess I am not alone but when I think about it, I have probably had a subtle tendency to think like this my whole life, not in an obsessive way, but just a subtle yearning to be more like other people to be accepted completely. I am very thankful that the tendency inside of me to be sensible and what was right and wrong was always stronger than this desire to be totally accepted. otherwise I would think I would have found myself making a lot more mistakes in my life and perhaps I wouldn’t be at the place that I am right now. My life may have taken a whole other path.

Growing up in most families and communities gives us some sense that some people are more acceptable than others. So the quest to be acceptable to some degree runs alongside the journey and pilgrimage that we find ourselves already on, to do out journey the way we are, the way we are meant to be or try and do it like someone else.

It’s not something that can be solved in some one off decision, the decision to be okay with you, seek God for who you are meant to be and then be true to that is something we are going to be about every day from now on to the rest of our life. Every day it will be challenged, every day it will come up in some way shape or form as we decide how to live our life, be authentic and live out our best life!

Being your most authentic self is found in not found in out and out pride and arrogance, but it is found in being the best you can be, humbly doing the things that you are meant to be doing in the most honorable way, with wisdom and care for the community around you.

And so I face my challenge to admit it to myself when I am not being completely true to myself, after all I am the only one that knows within the integrity of my own heart for what reason I am doing something for the wrong reason, no matter how right it might seem. I have to become my own accountability partner on some occasions because no one else on the planet can possibly know when I am not being true to myself.

And so I go this day forward, and perhaps you do to, with this challenge before you to be the most authentic you that you can be. Honor who you are, honor your purpose and your mission, honor God as you be who He wants you to be and trust that the right paths, opportunities, and openings will come around to you at the right time! Then come whatever may you can know that you did it your way! LOL

______________________________________________

Authentic:

Not false or copied; genuine; real. Having the origin supported by unquestionable evidence; authenticated; verified. Entitled to acceptance or belief because of agreement with known facts or experience; reliable; trustworthy.

Authentic carries a connotation of authoritative certification that an object is what it is claimed to be: an authentic Rembrandt sketch. Genuine refers to objects or persons having the characteristics or source claimed or implied: a genuine ivory carving. Real, the most general of these terms, refers to innate or actual—as opposed to ostensible—nature or character:

Matthew 23:27-28
(The Message)

“You’re hopeless, you religion scholars and Pharisees! Frauds! You’re like manicured grave plots, grass clipped and the flowers bright, but six feet down it’s all rotting bones and worm-eaten flesh. People look at you and think you’re saints, but beneath the skin you’re total frauds.

Follow me on Facebook via Light for Life and The Answer I’ve Found

What are your thoughts?

