~Spirit Soul & Body~


The way of the world is to do whatever feels good; the way of the world is BODY SOUL AND SPIRIT, which looks like this, for example…. A situation happens and I get angry….my first instinct is to react, I get mad, angry, frustrated (BODY), I start to think about it, I play the scenario over in my mind, I come up with all sorts of ways of dealing with this (SOUL), and then I start to cool down, I regain some balance, I realise I don’t want to respond like this, I know what the right thing is to do and I work on doing what God wants me to (SPIRIT).

We don’t need to think to react like that, it’s our natural earthly response which happens automatically, but today I want to remind you that we are not just natural earthly beings, we were designed and created to firstly be supernatural, heavenly beings, to live in perfect union with the God and to choose the fruit of the Spirit responses…kindness, goodness, gentleness, meekness and self-control.

As a matter of fact, body, soul and spirit is the way I had heard it said for my whole life, that is until I heard one of my favourite Christian speakers, Joyce Meyer teach about it, she reversed the order, and now I know, saying it more correctly for how it should be in the God language…. SPIRIT SOUL AND BODY… this is the way we should be living and listening, firstly from and out of our spirit, then our soul (mind will and emotions) and then our body. For example a situation happens which could make me angry…. my first response is to commit this whole situation to God and I come before him and pray, (SPIRIT), when I start to think about it, I don’t allow the scenario to play over and over in my mind, I start ask God to forgive me, I confess my weakness before God and I speak good things into this situation, I am positive about it, and I speak out the promises of God about this situation. (SOUL), I start to cool down, I regain some balance, I begin to try to respond how God would want me to, I know what the right thing is to do and I work on doing what God wants me to (BODY).

Body, soul and spirit seem to be the way it is, but it has been all around the wrong way for far too long. If we really want any healing, progress, breakthrough in our lives it won’t happen too soon and it probably won’t last because living by and listening to our BODY SOUL AND SPIRIT will only get so far and no further because it’s all back to front.

After speaking to my son one morning recently and hearing him say how he sometimes struggles to make himself make the right choice – for instance to decide not relax for 3 hours now but to start his homework in plenty of time and then relax, I explained to him about the meaning of the term delayed gratification… that what it means is to do the ‘have to’s’ to some degree first and then the ‘want to’s’.

I realised he had the order around the natural (rather than the supernatural) way and he wasn’t relying on God as much as what he knew he should be doing, and by doing so he would be doing it in his own strength. I explained to him that we need to rely on God and his grace to help us respond and walk in love. If I hadn’t of explained this to him he wouldn’t have known that we need to get the order this way around ….spirit, soul and body. How would he ever have known to do it?

I felt a light go on in my head and I think he may have too. If we don’t know any better, we try something and then fail and then give up because firstly we are trying out of our flesh or own strength = body. If our BODY is in control it would stay in bed, not go to bed, not do exercise or anything else for most people… if our spirit is the first in line we can call on the grace made available to us to do what needs to be done! If our SOUL is in control (MIND WILL AND EMOTIONS) then our mind might just talk us out of what our spirit is nudging us to do.

Funnily enough our Spirit will often not agree with what our body and soul tell us to do. Our Spirit is sensitive to and linked with God and knows what the right thing is, as the bible says ‘the Spirit is willing but the flesh is weak’ and that is so true. I think a key here is to consciously and even prayerfully make the choice to not live according to the flesh but according to the Spirit, that order needs reversing and parking if we want any hope for this to last! Has anyone ever told you that you actually need to reverse the order? Did you realise that the order in which you reply through may backwards and maybe that is why you are still struggling with some particular issue and not able to get free from it?

I heard something quite profound on one of my favourite TV Shows…. It went like this…..

Orson: I have decided to finally be happy!
Bree: How can you just decide to be something like that?
Orson: There are things I don’t like about my life, but there is so much that is good. Do I really need to risk losing everything? I mean if I can decide to be resentful and jealous I can damn well decide to be happy!

When you analyse it 99.9% of the time when we say we can’t do something, the black and white truth is we just won’t. It may not seem that way but what we are actually saying is I know I could but I don’t want to do it. Perhaps you don’t want to for a very good reason but that doesn’t change the fact that generally if you chose to and wanted to you could!

We need to get ourselves lined up with God if we want to have change and answers to prayers and His way is spirit, soul and body. If we insist on letting our body have its say over our spirit will we be always able choose to forgive or forget? Could this be part of what it will take for you to move forward?

Prayer for Today…

My prayer today is… “Please help me to just trust you. Help me to do things your way, the supernatural way and not react the natural earthly way’.

The Word

Matthew 26:41
All of you must keep awake (give strict attention, be cautious and active) and watch and pray, that you may not come into temptation.
The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.

Romans 8:5
For those who are according to the flesh and are controlled by its unholy desires set their minds on and pursue those things which gratify the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit and are controlled by the desires of the Spirit set their minds on and seek those things which gratify the [Holy] Spirit.

Word For Life

SUPERNATURAL:
Not existing in nature or subject to explanation according to natural laws; not physical or material; “supernatural forces and occurrences and beings”. Of or relating to an order of existence beyond the visible observable universe ; especially: of or relating to God. Departing from what is usual or normal especially so as to appear to transcend the laws of nature, attributed to an invisible agent… in this case God

~By Cam Richmond~

~Written August 2009~
https://www.facebook.com/notes/light-for-life/light-for-life-august-2009-spirit-soul-and-body/131186533563879

Please find more writing and inspiration from my via my Facebook Pages:

www.facebook.com/lightforlifepage

www.facebook.com/sayaprayerforme

www.facebook.com/theanswerIvefound

www.facebook.com/lovewithoutexpectationspage

5 comments

What are your thoughts?

